Be Good

Oct. 24/09

I don’t buy the notion that we are all here to be as good as we can be.

If my life’s purpose is to be “good”, it begs the question: “according to whom?”

Good daughter.  Good employee.  Good musician.  Good… christian?

According to whom?
To whose ideal shall I tailor my life?

Who is to say when I am good enough?

Everything has changed and in an instant I realize I’ve spent my whole life trying to be many different versions of “good enough.”

I have found so much worth in the values of others that at times I no longer remembered my own…

But I have come to know myself very well in these recent days, and I recognize the real me better than anyone else.

To her, I will always be good.

~ by lindseywhitemusic on August 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
