The Core II

April 16/11

I once believed in quick fix healing.  In single-phrase answers to multiple-fractured questions.  In easy-outs and decorations, gravity and medication… hatred and justification.  I mistook self-mutilation for generosity and manipulation for absolution.

I let them bite into me, like an apple, but didn’t taste like one.  More like an onion.  An onion who didn’t know any better.

And now with every breath I am drawing in necessities and evacuating monsters, letting them pass through me in equal parts.  (And I’m TIRED and I’m broke and it’s worth it because it’s happening today.  Same old, same old.)

Now I am peeling and breathing,

healing and believing;

hoping that I’ve seen the last of this layer and

will never be farther from what lies within.

One thing is certain…

This is a much better way to access

the core.

~ by lindseywhitemusic on April 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
