Reaping Day

April, 18/11

Today is apples and oranges, cheese and wine, oak spruce and cedar.  I’ve known deep within my soul that it’s been a long time coming, but for so long could see only the weathered and withered organism I once was.

Today is warm and dry in the eye of an ever-present storm.  I am not ignoring it, by any means… but it grows increasingly easier to see THROUGH as time goes by.

Today is remembering the past and envisioning the future at the same time.

Right this instant.

Today, it is MINE.

It’s reaping day… and I am alive!

I’m not haunted by memories or tortured by guilt; and even as regret continues to pass THROUGH ME, I am no longer torn by it as I once was.

And tomorrow I will rise and breathe deeply and see the wonderful and worthwhile through the same storm, but with new eyes.

~ by lindseywhitemusic on April 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
