You Might Be Now

March 9/2011

I keep dreaming you’re still here.  Why is that?

How could something so difficult and painful to accept be so easily dismissed by my subconscious?  I don’t get it.  Maybe it’s the fact that you WERE here that is just too impossible for my mind to ignore.

I know I’ll never forget you.  (Who you were/are…?)

Well which is it?

I wonder if I’ll ever know.

I once wrote, “If heaven is real, (and we must believe that it is) then no thing is impossible.  NOTHING.”

At the time I meant/believed it… but why?

Why must one believe in life after death?  Is it because the finality of our lives is too much for our minds to comprehend?  Or because then our time spent alive is worth something MORE, in the end?  Maybe we inherently know the truth… and maybe the truth is that the end of this life is not the end… but why would I ever suggest that anyone “must” believe anything?  Especially to support the argument that nothing is impossible!  I’d like to take that back please.  I already know that nothing is impossible.

And that is why,

as I contemplate who you were and who you are not anymore, my hopeful heart will not let my brain dismiss the idea of your existence completely.

The idea… of who you might be now.

~ by lindseywhitemusic on April 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
